Breaking Benjamin~ Diary of Jane

Is Jane….Jane Doe?

If I had to
I would put myself right beside you
So let me ask
Would you like that?
Would you like that?

((He’s saying that he is willing to change everything about him and be just like this person and is asking if that would be good enough for this person.))

And I don’t mind
if you say this love is the last time
and now I’ll ask
Do you like that?
Do you like that?
No

((He’s saying that he doesn’t mind if this is his last love or chance. And he’s asking if the person likes that. And the answer is no.. so he goes on to the next verse to explain why))

Something’s getting in the way
Something’s just about to break
I will try to find my place
in the Diary of Jane
So tell me how it should be

((Something messed it up and he knows it, yet he’s still trying to be everything this person has ever wanted in someone.. Diary of jane refers to this girls “perfect person”.. and thats what he strives so hard to be))

Try to find out
What makes you tick as I lie down
Sore and sick
Do you like that?
Do you like that?

((He’s exhausted from trying so hard to find out what is making her hate him so bad.. and again asking if she likes what he’s doing yet..))

There’s a fine line
Between love and hate
And I don’t mind
So let me say that
I like that
I like that

((He’s slowly realizing that he doesn’t have to try soo hard for this person and is more focused on his own happiness))

Something’s getting in the way
Something’s just about to break
I will try to find my place
In the Diary of Jane

((again, something is always screwing up and he’s still trying to be everything that she’s ever wanted.))

As I burn another page
As I look the other way
I still try to find my place
In the Diary of Jane
So tell me how it should be

((Now this is where it shifts. “as I burn another page, As i look the other way” refers to the fact that he’s given up plenty of times.. but when it’s continued with “I still try to find my place..” It shows he’s still willing to do anything for her.))

Desperate I will crawl
Waiting for so long
No love, There is no love
Die for anyone
What have I become?
((He’s saying that no matter if he is shoved down, he’ll crawl to her. And that he’s been waiting so long that he doesn’t want to give up. He’s also realizing that he’s sacrificed everyone for someone who has “killed” him..))

Something’s getting in the way
Something’s just about to break
I will try to find my place
In the Diary of Jane
As I burn another page
As I look the other way
I still try to find my place
In the Diary of Jane

((all in all. Even though this whole experience has killed him.. he’s still willing to do whatever and be whatever for this girl.))

Leave a Reply

